top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmily Kenney

Murphy's Law

Anything that can go wrong, will go wrong. I have been on the road a lot so I have had a lot happen. I have been in car accidents, traffic stops, flat tires, and a timing belt braking while on the road. Once, when we moved to Oregon the 1st time, a snow storm blocked the pass between California and Oregon and we had to put on snow chains and drive to the nearest hotel in Yreka, CA. There was one time when I was passing a semi-truck but then it started to rain out of nowhere and another car did not like that I slowed down, so when there was a tiny amount of space they tried to squeeze between us, he ended up side-swiping my car and spun out into the median. When I stopped to check on him, he raced off!



I accept that something can go wrong on a trip, and I try to make sure I am prepared.

Before any road trip I:

  • Get an oil change and have all fluids checked and battery tested and wiper blades checked

  • Get tires checked, including the spare

  • Make sure my emergency kit is stocked with essentials

  • If traveling between Oct-Mar in US, have snow chains in the car (you never know when a freak snow storm will hit)

  • Make sure I have wipes, paper towels, and toilet paper within reach

  • Check that my tire iron is with the spare

    • Check out my tips about changing a tire here.

  • Make sure Roadside assistance is still active and insurance cards are printed (I take a screenshot so I always have it ready on my phone)

  • Have a sense of humor. The only way to get through the tough moments is to laugh.

It's not everyday you have to surfboard carry your 3 year old through the Grand Canyon because he had a blow-out during the most beautiful sunset and you just threw his clothes away because they weren't worth saving.



1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page